Does Scientology have a procedure called R2-45 which means to shoot someone in the head?

No. In Scientology there is a system of techniques which are numbered, like R2-1, R2-2 etc (no, there is no R2D2 in Scientology…). In a lecture in 1959 Hubbard was talking about how people experienced exteriorization when they reached Clear (a Scientology conscience level) in the past, during meditation or so. At the end of this section of the lecture he makes a joke, inventing “R2-45”:

“And even the cops or gangsters could make a Clear out of anybody over these circumstances by taking a Webley .38 or a Smith and Wesson or Colt or something like that, and doing R2-45. That exteriorizes most anybody! Now, the way the Lamas got there was to sit and meditate. We’ve had somebody sitting and meditating, I guarantee you, our research has included it.” (Lecture 19 of “Rationale of Create” Series, 20 November 1959, Melbourne Congress)

It was a joke. Scientology is not teaching or applying processes which leaves people dead in the end. All literature and processes I ever saw are 100% directed in making people more alive and more self-determined. So such “process” would be very much out of alignment with the rest of Scientology technology.

5 Comments

  1. @Comment by anmn on February 22, 2008 9:31 pm

    “7. Any Sea Org member contacting any of them is to use Auditing Process R2-45.”

    Makes me grin. Because I get the joke. You can also say: “Anybody who touches the cake before it cooled down will be shot on sight”. Not serious, Hubbard used it to emphasize what he says. If you say to somebody “go to hell”, do you really mean that person should be condemned to eternal pain? I doubt so. It’s a phrase.

    – Lu

  2. Okay. It is not my intent at all to create a link farm; I am just trying to back up my claims. The links were easy reads. But I’ll try to distill it into one link. Reposting:

    HCO Ethics Order 30, March 6, 1968. Written by LRH.
    Printed with a different list of names in “The Auditor 37,” 1968.

    “[list of names]
    are hereby declared Suppressive Persons…

    7. Any Sea Org member contacting any of them is to use Auditing Process R2-45.”

    Source: http://www.gerryarmstrong. org/50grand/cult/auditor37.html

  3. @anmn “Hm, I wonder why my comments are disappearing.”

    Simple. RTFM.

    FAQ

    WordPress blocks them too because you try to make this place a link farm.

    – Lu

  4. Hi Cloud, I do have the audio recording (including the laughter of the audience who got the joke as such after Hubbard says “That exteriorizes most anybody!”). I won’t be able to rip it and put online, sorry.

    – Lu

  5. Doesn’t seem like much of a joke to me. Sure, the paragraph is obviously a joke, but the way he throws R2-45 in there, it makes it seem as though it was supposed to be a joke only Scientologists would understand. If you have an audio recording, I would like to hear it please, because the way he tells the joke may have to do with how you perceive it.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

  • What is this blog?

    I am running a website, ScientologyMyths.info which deals with critical questions about Scientology.
    So naturally I am into finding answers to the questions that are constantly being asked all over the internet about Scientology, Scientologists, the Church, L. Ron Hubbard and the Church's leader, David Miscavige. I want to find answers from independent sources, not only Church of Scientology owned sites or anti-Scientology hate sites. So what's left? Court documents, photos and other reliable sources. Help me find stuff and ask whatever you want. Thanks!

    The easiest way to shoot a question over to me is to click here.

    Or search below.
  • Archives

  • Religion Photo Feed