So much happening!

Wow, I just skimmed through my inbox and – what a day – so much exciting things have been happening recently. The first Ideal Church of Scientology in Russia (we’ll talk about that later), Katie finally slamming those media leaches for their continuous false reports, some news from recent “ex-ex-Scientologists” and other ex’es. It’s wild! So I updated ScientologyMyths.info for you and hope you can use the information.

Now the most important news: last weekend a new Church of Scientology opened in Moscow. Wow, first they won one court case after the other and now – bang! – a huge new Church right in the main district of Moscow. Well done, or “хорошо сделано!”, to the Russian Scientologists for making this happen! I hope to see more photos and videos soon! Here are some I found on Facebook:

This is the 12th or so Ideal Scientology Organization that opened its doors in the last 12 months. Assuming that this blog is not only read by Scientologists I should explain what this means. An Ideal Organization – the term comes from a policy letter of Scientology founder L. Ron Hubbard – is a Church of Scientology able to deliver all services of Scientology, including social services, lectures, events, auditing, everything a Church of Scientology does. That means it needs to be big enough, it needs to have enough staff – and trained ones – and most importantly it needs to be representative for what Scientology is: the path to total freedom. A little dinky building in dire need of a paint job wouldn’t cut it to represent that, right? So there is a lot of effort going on in Scientology to create Ideal Organizations. The whole campaign started in 2004 and has gained a lot of speed since. It’s exciting and gets everyone on board. Parishioners are coming together all over the world to renovate their place or find a new one, they raise funds,  join staff,  and do everything needed to build their new Church.

I can attest to a big difference between an Ideal Church of Scientology and a rather random one. The latter can be an introduction to Scientology and certainly most Scientologists today have started in one. Better to have a Church building, bookstore etc than not. But it’s only after its metamorphosis into an Ideal Church of Scientology that I truly felt at home in my Church. And I know this is true for many others who have been part of creating their own Ideal Church of Scientology.

I also heard that there will be two more new Churches to open this month and a dozen more this year. Keep them coming!

– L

13 Comments

  1. I apologize pat, I failed to complete this comms cycle! Especially when you asked me a specific question.

    My memory is fuzzy, but I believe that I was asking louanne why she was saying that she didn’t know how many members there were when she had previously posted a number. Also louanne had stated that the numbers are growing, implying a larger number than previous years. As you had also given numbers, I was wondering if you believed the current number to be greater than 10 million

  2. Comment by Bigdaddy on March 4, 2011 12:36 pm

    “I would invite you, Pat, to join this portion of the conversation if you’re able and willing. I only mention this because you once said “Membership has increased from 6.1 million in 2000 to approximately 10 million at the end of 2007.” (Comment by Pat on March 29, 2008 7:40 pm, thread, “questions”)

    That information coincides with the statistics section of Louanne’s website, so I assume that’s fairly well-accepted data. ”

    That was published data as of end of 2008 when I quoted it . So?

    Pat

  3. kathy’s blog is now marked private :(

  4. I would invite you, Pat, to join this portion of the conversation if you’re able and willing. I only mention this because you once said “Membership has increased from 6.1 million in 2000 to approximately 10 million at the end of 2007.” (Comment by Pat on March 29, 2008 7:40 pm, thread, “questions”)

    That information coincides with the statistics section of Louanne’s website, so I assume that’s fairly well-accepted data.

    On another note, Louanne (to you), also on the subject of this thread and regarding the Haggis interview:

    1. In the interview, Davis claimed, “the current editions are one-hundred-per-cent, absolutely fully verified as being according to what Mr. Hubbard wrote.” Would this mean that the editions we have now are the final editions?

    2. Also, he stated that if hubbard had not been injured in the war and effected his own healing, then, “the injuries that he handled by the use of Dianetics procedures were never handled, because they were injuries that never existed; therefore, Dianetics is based on a lie; therefore, Scientology is based on a lie.” This very bold statement from the official spokesperson for the church seems to make the concept quite important. Has this statement increased, for scientologists, an interest in his official medical record?

    3. Lastly, Haggis’ sister, still in the church, writes (I’m assuming that you read her actual blog) some pretty angry things to her brother (hardly an effective technique for “reuniting” with someone, but more power to her), including the claim that he hadn’t made any meaningful progress since 1977. But hadn’t he reached OT VII level?

    4. Lastly is one recent item of significance is the recent murder conviction of scientology minister rex fowler. He claimed, through his defense, that he had been depressed for quite some time and had planned to kill himself. He also claimed that he was active in the church. Should that have been noticed, or is it harder to see such things if clears don’t make use of the e-meter?

  5. You can see though, I’m sure, my confusion in thinking you did have such data, ad you once said, “Membership has increased from 6.1 million in 2000 to approximately 10 million at the end of 2007”.
    (Comment by Louanne on March 13, 2008 6:03 pm. Thread title “questions, questions, questions)

    Was that invalid data?

  6. lol, fair enough. It’s good that you’re seeing more in your area- it’s always good to encounter more people with which you can fellowship.

  7. “Comment by bigdaddy on March 2, 2011 9:59 pm
    So you’re saying that the number of scientologists are over 8million now, in your estimation?”

    Thanks for that. You always manage to make me smile. No, I didn’t think, say or otherwise emanate the idea that there are over 8 million members of the Church of Scientology. I simply do not have this information. Subjectively I can add that I noticed more people active in Greater LA than several years ago. Whatever that is worth.

    – L

  8. “May I point out that the word oxymoron includes a reference to “moron”? Don’t go there.”
    i don’t even get what you’re trying to say. But I see you’re not comfortable with compliments…
    So you’re saying that the number of scientologists are over 8million now, in your estimation?

  9. “Comment by Pat on March 2, 2011 2:56 am
    Great post, L! Especially thanks for the link to Kathy’s blog.
    Pat”

    Thanks, I like that blog too. Hope there is more to be learned soon.

    – L

  10. “Comment by Bigdaddy on March 2, 2011 7:48 am
    It is much better to focus on the positive, rather than all the negative out there. I don’t see member numbers in the official stats…?”

    May I point out that the word oxymoron includes a reference to “moron”? Don’t go there.

    Thanks for checking out the statistics page on ScientologyMyths.info (http://scientologymyths.info/statistics/index.php) though. Yes, there are no member statistics and there haven’t been for a while. And I think there won’t be. I see more people and new ones coming and going, but the majority of them stays. So, I guess the Church membership is growing :D

    – L

  11. It is much better to focus on the positive, rather than all the negative out there. I don’t see member numbers in the official stats…?

  12. Great post, L! Especially thanks for the link to Kathy’s blog.

    Pat


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

  • What is this blog?

    I am running a website, ScientologyMyths.info which deals with critical questions about Scientology.
    So naturally I am into finding answers to the questions that are constantly being asked all over the internet about Scientology, Scientologists, the Church, L. Ron Hubbard and the Church's leader, David Miscavige. I want to find answers from independent sources, not only Church of Scientology owned sites or anti-Scientology hate sites. So what's left? Court documents, photos and other reliable sources. Help me find stuff and ask whatever you want. Thanks!

    The easiest way to shoot a question over to me is to click here.

    Or search below.
  • Archives

  • Religion Photo Feed

    Hermandad del Calvario en el altar de Ánimas - Mayo 2017

    Virgen de Montserrat en la Magdalena - Mayo 2017

    Santísimo Cristo de la Conversión en la Magdalena - Mayo 2017

    More Photos