Does the church block access to critical websites?

# Comment by chansonroland on February 16, 2008 7:42 pm
Is it true that the CoS has a form of Net-Nanny software installed on its computers (as well as encouraging its believers to install on their home computers) which block out pages containing info critical of Scientology, info of higher Scientology levels, or anti-Scientology websites?

Answer:

I heard this story. The answer is yes and no. I know that internet computers used in the church have a function that does not allow to show websites other than intended for the use of the computer. Like someone whose job is to buy supplies would not be able to spend his time with reading message boards or anti-Scientology sites (or Scientology Myths). He could do this at home though and I plenty of times when I was talking with staff of the about anti-Scientology websites they knew what I am talking about. I think it is pretty common that your boss doesn’t want you to doodle around on the net when you are supposed to do your job. So that’s a yes here. More than 10 years ago there was a software given out by the church which blocked the access of a list of anti-Scientology websites.

I did not much with the internet that time and have not seen this software in operation. I actually don’t know anybody who used it and it is sure not around today. There are no restrictions for Scientologists to go online and inform themselves or have blogs and so on.

But you mention “info on higher Scientology levels” and I give you my experience as an internet enthusiast and Scientologist. There is so called material on the internet which claims to be “confidential Scientology scriptures”. One of the guys who stole this material in the 1980s (they wanted to experiment with it outside of the church and make some money with it) said some years later that they “amended” and “corrected” it, i.e. it’s not the original material out there on the net. My friend J who wrote the “Alien” section on Scientology Myths knew someone who discovered this altered incorrect “OT” material on the internet and “tried to apply it to himself and it basically drove him crazy, and soon after, he killed himself”. He was not a Scientologist. Scientologist are aware what can happen if you mess around with Scientology technology and do it the wrong way. Not that it kills you but it can get confused or very unhappy doing it the wrong way.

So what I am reading on the internet is at least out of context – which is the usual with material posted for the purpose to ridicule Scientologists – or at worst not even real Scientology material. It reads like science-fiction, or very old. Scientologists believe that they have lived before and that there are many earlier lives. The higher Scientology levels include bits and pieces about past lives going back to times before planet earth. I believe and that is common for Scientologists that this data is historical and might or might not influence the condition of people today. But to make up your own mind of this is true or not you will have to read the full story in sequence, with training, practice and all the background there is. Computer Science 3 is tough or impossible to understand for a begining HTML coder (ok, Computer Science is not a religious belief, but you get the point?).

Finally a personal thing: some time ago I got a flyer with a printout of this “material”. The guy who distributed it gave it only to Scientologists coming from Sunday service in a Church of Scientology. The flyer was ridiculing all and any belief of Scientology. Now, what purpose did this have? Intolerance. I was about to smack the guy, only that my friend was holding me back. Here comes some dude with no clue about Scientology but some ridiculous internet printout and tries to make fun out of my beliefs and those of my friends? Man, this is how wars start, religious wars. This is pure intolerance and provocation, a violation of my basic rights. Do I go to a Catholic service and call them canibals because they just drank “the blood of Christ”? Do I go to such a service and distribute flyers about some things in Christianity which you can only believe but not see? No, I don’t, because I believe that noone has a right to destroy the spirituality of others, especially if it makes them help and care for others, as Scientology does, and as many others religions do.

Ok, that was a long answer to a short question, but consider that most of those “anti-Scientology” sites are just there to make fun of Scientologist’s beliefs. I know how I feel when I read them some time ago, to create Scientology Myths. It sucks. So why would a Scientologist go there and read it?

3 Comments

  1. @Comment by AnononA on February 22, 2008 3:41 am

    I would say: BS. 10 years ago there was a spam filter, probably the first of its kind, for people who wanted to get blocked on spam. And as any software you could install it and uninstall it. Oh, though this is the internets you might consider using Firefox to at least catch the orthography errors.

    – Lu

  2. haha, this is a great example of the wonders of proofreading

    either way, after the install they weren’t able to access certain sites. Specifically, anti-scientology sites.

  3. what would you say to the fact that several scientologists have confirmed (intentionally or not) that scientologists installed software on their computer when they joined the church/bought the computer?


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

  • What is this blog?

    I am running a website, ScientologyMyths.info which deals with critical questions about Scientology.
    So naturally I am into finding answers to the questions that are constantly being asked all over the internet about Scientology, Scientologists, the Church, L. Ron Hubbard and the Church's leader, David Miscavige. I want to find answers from independent sources, not only Church of Scientology owned sites or anti-Scientology hate sites. So what's left? Court documents, photos and other reliable sources. Help me find stuff and ask whatever you want. Thanks!

    The easiest way to shoot a question over to me is to click here.

    Or search below.
  • Archives

  • Religion Photo Feed

    Hermandad del Calvario en el altar de Ánimas - Mayo 2017

    Virgen de Montserrat en la Magdalena - Mayo 2017

    Santísimo Cristo de la Conversión en la Magdalena - Mayo 2017

    More Photos